Thai Beef with Chiles and Basil Over Coconut Rice

BK and I are both big stir-fry fans, but I haven’t been making much lately because it just doesn’t seem that summery to me.  But this recipe used two of my garden items, hot peppers and basil, so I went for it.  Is it an authentic Thai dish?  I doubt it.  Is it tasty?  Yes, extremely.  Lots and lots of flavor.  We’ve made it several times and will put it in our regular rotation.

We used ground beef, but you could use turkey, lamb, pork, or chicken also.  The first time I made it, I wasn’t sure what “long hot peppers” were.  My plan was to go to the grocery store and literally look for a long, hot pepper.  I found one and then looked at the label: it said “long hot pepper.”  So, although extraordinarily boring, it is a proper name for something.   I used three and it wasn’t very spicy.  So, the next time, I tried for spice by making it with jalapeno chiles, but couldn’t find red ones.  Instead, I used 2 of my spicy salsa peppers from the backyard.  The spice adds a nice kick, and you can use the rice to cool  your mouth off.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

1 ¼ cups jasmine rice
1 can (13.5 ounces) coconut milk
coarse salt
1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon fish sauce
1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon sugar
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
3 garlic cloves, chopped
3 long hot peppers or 2 red jalapeno chiles, seeded and sliced into 2-inch matchsticks
1 ¼ pounds ground beef sirloin
1 cup loosely packed torn fresh basil leaves
lime wedges for serving

Directions:

In a medium saucepan, combine rice, coconut milk, ¾ cup water, and ½ teaspoon salt.  Cover and bring to a boil; reduce to a simmer, cover, and cook until rice is tender and liquid has been absorbed, about 25 minutes.

When rice is almost done, combine fish sauce, soy sauce, and sugar in a small bowl; set aside.  Heat a cast-iron skillet or wok over high.  Add oil and heat; add garlic and half the chiles.  Cook, stirring constantly, 15 seconds.  Add beef and cook, breaking up meat with a wooden spoon, until completely browned, about 4 minutes.  Thoroughly drain fat.  Add soy mixture and cook 30 seconds.  Add basil and remaining chiles and stir to combine.  Serve beef over coconut rice with lime wedges.

Adapted from MarthaStewart.com.

2 responses to this post.

  1. [...] Thai Beef with Chiles and Basil Over Coconut Rice « the little … [...]

    Reply

  2. My husband doesn’t really care for Thai food, but I think he’d go for this! I think it looks fantastic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

