Asian Chicken Lettuce Wraps

BK loves chicken lettuce wraps, so we had a taste test one week…we tried 3 different recipes and this one is probably our favorite.  The original had water chestnuts, mushrooms, and onions.  I knew mushrooms and onions were on BK’s “I don’t eat” list, but I wasn’t sure about water chestnuts.  When I asked, he looked at me and said, “My little pierogi.  I don’t understand water chestnuts…what are they?  What food group are they in?  Are they nuts?  Do they grow in the water?  Are they like the cro-magnon relative of actual chestnuts?”

Ummmm…<blink, blink>

Instead of answering his questions (I couldn’t anyway), I went ahead and took his response as a “no.”  I then took the liberty of substituting green peppers and carrots — nice “normal” ingredients.  I imagine you could probably use lots of different kinds of veggies and it would taste great.  In addition, we usually eat the wraps with rice and some Korean gochujang…one of us is Asian, after all.

Ingredients:

Wraps:
2 tablespoons oil, divided
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, diced
1 large green pepper, diced
2 large carrots, peeled and diced
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
4-5 leaves bibb or boston lettuce

Stir-Fry Sauce:
1 ½ tablespoons soy sauce
1 ½ tablespoons brown sugar
½ teaspoon rice wine vinegar

Directions:

Bring 1 tablespoon oil to high heat in a wok or large frying pan.  Saute chicken breasts for 4 to 5 minutes or until cooked through.  Remove chicken from the pan.

With the pan still on high heat, add another tablespoon of vegetable oil.  Add garlic, peppers and carrots to the pan.  Saute for 2-3 minutes, until just soft.  Prepare the stir fry sauce by mixing the soy sauce, brown sugar, and rice vinegar together in a small bowl.  Add the chicken and stir-fry sauce to the pan and saute the mixture for a couple minutes until sauce has reduced some.  Serve in the lettuce “cups”.

Heavily adapted from Food.com.

One response to this post.

  1. We really adore Asian stuff. This one is delish, I want to wrap up one for my and my hubby.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

