Tangy Lime Delicious

Hi, my name is the little kimchi pierogi and I’m a key lime pie lover.

  • I grew up in Florida and we had a key lime tree in our backyard.  I mean, I never really stood a chance.
  • One summer day long ago, Pierogi Mom and I baked key lime pies from each of her three different recipes.  We had a taste test, picked our favorite, and threw out the other recipes.  They are forever dead to us.  (And yes, it was a glorious day.)
  • I convinced BK we needed key lime pie at both our rehearsal dinner AND our wedding.

So now you understand.

Before I thoroughly confuse you, this recipe is NOT for key lime pie.   But the relationship to it is what caught my eye.  I’m never motivated to make an entire rich, sweet pie for just BK and I.  It’s a lot of work that will only lead to us eating too much and getting sick.  That is the beauty of this recipe though: it’s a quick fix that yields a little ramekin of lime pudding that is similar to key lime pie filling.

I was on high alert for these to be too sweet…such is the downfall of many a similar dessert.  But with every bite, I decided that it was firmly in the “just right” camp.  If you are someone that neeeeeeeeeeds that meringue or whipped cream on top of your key lime pie though, I would suggest adding some whipped cream on top of these after cooling.  You could also try cutting down on the sugar a bit or adding a pinch of salt.

One caution: Don’t be like me and decide (without checking) that your all-purpose flour is self-rising.  It is not.  Take 10 seconds, check what kind of flour you have, and make the substitution if necessary.  It will be a well-used 10 seconds of your life.  Really.

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
shortening for greasing baking cups
2 large eggs
1 cup sugar
1 tablespoon freshly grated lime zest (from 2 limes)
⅓ cup self-rising flour*
⅔ cup low-fat milk
½ cup lime juice (from 2 to 3 limes or a bottle)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease four 1-cup ramekins (or ovenproof coffee cups) with a little shortening.

Separate the egg yolks from the whites; beat the whites in the bowl of a stand mixer or hand-held electric mixer on medium-high speed (or use a whisk) until soft peaks form.

Combine the 2 tablespoons of butter, the sugar, egg yolks and lime zest in a separate mixing bowl. Beat on medium speed for about 4 minutes, until creamy and light.

Use a wooden spoon or spatula to fold the flour, milk and lime juice into the sugar-egg yolk mixture until well combined. Gently fold in about a third of the beaten egg whites to lighten the mixture, then fold in the remaining egg whites.

Divide the batter among the ramekins; bake for 25 to 40 minutes or until the tops are golden and the pudding has just set. Serve warm.

*Can substitue ⅓ cup all-purpose flour, ½ teaspoon baking powder, and ⅙ teaspoon salt, mixed well.

Slightly adapted from “Ready, Steady, Spaghetti: Cooking for Kids and With Kids,” by Lucy Broadhurst, via The Washington Post.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I’m pretty sure I would die and go to heaven with a key lime tree in my backyard!! And I’m pretty sure one of these would make me super happy, too!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Pierogi Mom on September 14, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    Really, I loved doing that testing my little pierogi so long ago. love pma

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

