Easy Peasy Salsa

As I mentioned last week, I don’t usually make things from scratch that I can easily buy at the store.  I just don’t have the time.  But this salsa is an exception.  First, it’s a copycat of the salsa from Chili’s and is really delicious.  Second, I actually find it more convenient to keep the basic ingredients on hand and make the salsa whenever I need it…that way I don’t have to remember to put it on my grocery list.  And finally, I find store-bought salsa to be kind of overpriced…this is much less expensive (BK is rolling his eyes right now that I find $3.99 for a jar of salsa to be overpriced…but I do).

Making the salsa is super fast….it takes only about 5 minutes and you can easily tailor it to your preferred level of spiciness, saltiness, and seasoning.  It can be doubled, tripled, etc., and lasts forever.  Try it and let me know what you think!

Note: We use “mild” Rotel, which makes a slightly spicy salsa.  “Original” Rotel is spicier…maybe a medium.  If you want legit hot salsa, go ahead and add in some fresh or canned jalapenos when you add the onion to the food processor. 

Ingredients:

¼ cup white onion, diced
1 10-ounce can Rotel
1 14-ounce can whole peeled tomatoes
¼ teaspoon sugar
¾ teaspoon garlic salt
½ teaspoon cumin

Directions:

Place the onion in a food processor or magic bullet.  Process for just a few seconds.  Add the Rotel, all of the whole peeled tomatoes, 2 tablespoons of juice from the whole peeled tomatoes, sugar, garlic salt, and cumin.  Process all ingredients until well blended but do not puree (usually I pulse it 3-5 times, but you could do more or less depending on how chunky you want it) .  Place in covered container and chill.

Adapted from copykat.com.

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] not separated 2 large bell peppers  stemmed, quartered and seeded 8-12 (6-inch) flour tortillas salsa, cheese, sour cream, guacamole, etc., for toppings, if […]

    Reply

  2. Talk about easy!! Love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

