Pasta e Fagoli Soup

This soup is really good.  It is so good that BK, in fact, calls it “Crack Soup” because I can’t stop eating it.   Left to my own devices if BK is not home to give me a stern look, I will eat it until my stomach is killing me.

The funny thing is that I didn’t used to think this soup was so good.  When I was young and single and ate onions, I used to carefully spoon the bacon drippings out of the soup pot so it would be healthier.  Then BK and I got married and I figured I’d be splitting the bacon drippings with someone else, so I’d just leave them in.  Well, let me tell you: it makes *all* the difference!!  Leave the bacon drippings in, in the name of all that is good in the world!!

Many times, “soup for dinner” meals are disappointing because the soup just isn’t hearty enough to make a meal.  This one is though…the beans and pasta will fill you up.  It’s also very good as leftovers, but the pasta soaks up a ton of the broth, so I like to add more water when I’m reheating.

Visit Taste and Tell’s Saturdays with Rachael Ray for more delicious recipes!

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
⅛ pound (3 slices) pancetta or bacon, chopped
2 (4- to 6-inch) sprigs rosemary, left intact
1 (4 to 6-inch) sprig thyme with several sprigs on it, left intact, or 1½ teaspoons dried thyme
1 large fresh bay leaf or 2 dried bay leaves
1 medium onion, finely chopped
1 small carrot, finely chopped
1 rib celery, finely chopped
4 large cloves garlic, chopped
coarse salt and pepper
2 (15-ounce) cans cannellini or great northern beans
1 cup canned tomato sauce or canned crushed tomatoes
2 cups water
1 quart chicken stock
1½ cups ditalini
grated Parmigiano or Romano, for the table
crusty bread, for mopping

Directions:

Heat a deep pot over medium high heat and add oil and pancetta or bacon.  Brown the pancetta or bacon bits lightly, and add herb stems, bay leaf, chopped vegetables, and garlic.  Season vegetables with salt and pepper.  Add beans, tomato sauce, water, and stock to pot and raise heat to high.  Bring soup to a rapid boil and add pasta.  Reduce heat to medium and cook soup, stirring occasionally, 6 to 8 minutes or until pasta is cooked al dente.  Rosemary and thyme leaves may separate from stems as soup cooks; remove stems and bay leaves.  Let soup rest and begin to cool for a few minutes.  Ladle soup into bowls and top with grated cheese.  Pass crusty bread for bowl mopping.

Slightly adapted from The Food Network, Rachael Ray.

5 responses to this post.

  1. […] taste that I recognize from my favorite soup that also has bacon drippings in it (nicknamed “Crack Soup” by BK because I cannot stay away from the leftovers) .  Just go with it…while bacon […]

    Reply

  2. That’s a delectable pasta soup. Looks so elegant and adorable.

    Reply

  3. This looks SO good. Bookmarking this one!!

    Reply

  4. […] from the little kimchi pierogi 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil ⅛ pound (3 slices) pancetta or bacon, chopped 2 (4- to […]

    Reply

  5. I made this yesterday as written except I was out of bay leaves. No matter, it was so amazingly good. It was cold, windy and rainy here yesterday in Northeast Ohio, and it was so comforting, first to have this cooking on the stove and filling the house with the wonderful smell of it cooking, and then eating it. I found it hard to stop myself and only did when it started to hurt, lol! I will definately make this again. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

