Garden Fresh Zucchini

Years ago, I converted my little condo balcony into a garden with tomatoes and peppers and some flowers.  A garden “oasis,” my mom generously called it.  A bit of hyperbole, what with all the concrete and blazing sun, but it was nice.  Now that we have a real deck, I have created a larger garden that BK has termed a not a “garden,” but a “jungle.”  Well, I’m pretty excited about my jungle.  The balcony got only about 3 hours of sun a day, but the deck probably gets close to 12, so I am anticipating tons and tons of veggies and lots of flowers.  So far, the flowers are doing great.  The veggies…well…have you ever grown zucchini?  Or any squash for that matter?

Its a menace to society.

Its been in the pot for a bit over a month and is taking things over.  Its actually very reminiscent of the Little Shop of Horrors plant.  And the darn thing is growing zucchinis like its its job (wait…).  Since zucchini is yet another item on the “BK doesn’t eat” list, I think I am going to be really sick of it by the end of the summer.  But, for now, I can’t wait to see how my very first zucchini (picked last night!) tastes.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by http://theparakeet.wrodpress.com on June 29, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    Yay! So many FUN choices: fritters, quesadillas, bread, shredded like pasta, quiche…

    Reply

  2. […] a green zucchini grows under a large green zucchini leaf and so you don’t see it for, oh, maybe a […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

