Watermelon Martini

I do not have what one might call a “refined” liquor palate.  Most of my favorites are sweet and some might contend that they taste like punch.

  • I had a wine cooler the other week.  And I liked it.  Don’t tell anyone.
  • I love appletinis, which BK rightly claims taste like jolly ranchers.  I love them so much that I sometimes even risk shame and embarrassment by ordering them during work events at which I am the youngest person by 10 to 15 years.
  • My mom once gave me a glass of Veuve Clicquot Grande Dame and then snatched it back after I wrinkled my nose.

So yes, this watermelon martini is sweet.  Not as sweet as the appletini though…so don’t write it off yet!  Its such a  refreshing summer drink on hot days like this, and a great alternative to a cold beer.  Plus, you can count it as one of your daily servings of fruit.   Ding!

I recommend pureeing the watermelon as best you can, otherwise it doesn’t really come out of the shaker.  If you still have trouble straining it, do it the old fashioned way and just take the ice cubes out of the shaker and pour the whole thing into your glass…a few watermelon chunks aren’t a bad thing.

Ingredients:

½ cup seedless watermelon, diced, plus slice for garnish
¾ ounce watermelon pucker
2 ounces Bacardi Limon

Directions:

Puree the watermelon.  Put into shaker with watermelon pucker, Bacardi Limon, and ice.  Shake until frost forms on outside of shaker.  Strain into martini glass and garnish with slice of watermelon.

Source: the little kimchi pierogi

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] an adult cocktail is perfect, but sometimes I want to cool off without falling asleep like the adult cocktails […]

    Reply

  2. […] air-conditioning to make an anti-fainting agent, also known as strawberry lemonade.  Yes, another fruity drink recipe!  Berries + lemons or limes + seltzer water = deliciousness in many, many different […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

