Chicken Cobb Burgers

In the summer, BK routinely has hankerings for Cobb Salad.  I, myself, very much enjoy it as well, but have come to terms with the fact that unless I have it for lunch with some good bread, I’m going to be hungry an hour later.  BK has not come to terms with this.  In fact, just the other night he ordered Cobb Salad.  I warned him, but he got it anyway and then sure enough, as soon as we got home, he announced he was hungry.

When I saw this recipe for Chicken Cobb Burgers, I knew it was for us…Cobb Salad, but filling!  The burgers are really delicious…BK had the leftovers the next day for lunch and told me repeatedly that he wished we had made more.  In fact, when I was editing the photos, I turned to look at him and he was staring at the computer screen with a crazy glint in his eye…I think he was contemplating trying to grab the burger out of the computer screen…

We discussed making this with chicken breast instead of ground chicken.  Its a pretty big burger though, and the chicken breast results in a softer burger that probably makes it easier to eat without everything sliding out.  If you use chicken breast, it would certainly taste good, but could be messier and harder to eat.

Ingredients:

For the burgers:
8 (½-thick) strips bacon
1 ½ pounds ground chicken, 90 percent lean
2 tablespoons canola oil
salt
freshly ground black pepper
½ cup crumbled blue cheese (can certainly use more if desired)
1 large beefsteak tomato cut into 4 slices
1 ripe avocado, peeled, pitted and cut into 8 slices

For the vinaigrette:
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
¼ teaspoon sugar
¼ teaspoon Kosher salt
¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup finely shredded romaine lettuce

Directions:

Make the vinaigrette.  Whisk together the vinegar, lemon juice, mustard, Worcestershire, garlic, sugar, salt, pepper and oil in a small bowl.  Cover and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes before using to allow the flavors to meld.  Just before assembling the burgers, place the romaine in a medium bowl and toss with the vinaigrette.

Heat the grill to medium.  Place the strips of bacon on the grill (lay them across the grate so they don’t fall through) and grill for 3 to 4 minutes on each side, until golden brown and slightly crispy. Remove the bacon to a plate lined with paper towels. Increase the heat of the grill to high.

Form the meat into 4 (8-ounce) burgers, brush with the oil and season with salt and pepper on both sides.  Grill the burgers until golden brown on both sides and cooked completely through, about 5 minutes per side.  Top the burgers with the blue, close the cover, and continue cooking until the cheese begins to melt, about 1 minute longer. (I found it kind of hard to top the burgers with the crumbly blue cheese while they are on the grill.  I did my best and then put more on after we took the burgers off the grill…it still melted.)

Place the burgers on the bottom half of each bun and top with a slice of tomato, 2 slices of avocado, 2 slices of bacon and some of the dressed romaine.  Cover each burger with the bun tops and serve.

Slightly adapted from Bobby Flay via Food Network.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my weblog thus i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to enhance my site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

    Reply

  2. This actually answered my downside, thank you!

    Reply

  3. Hello, I love your blog. Do you write all of the articles yourself?

    Reply

  4. Howdy, I was just surfing the web and I found your website from bing. I read a few of your blog posts and thought they were awesome. Thank you, I will come back to your website soon.

    Reply

  5. I agree with your Chicken Cobb Burgers the little kimchi pierogi, excellent post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

