Sparkling Strawberry Lemonade

This past weekend was *unbearably* hot.  So hot.  So humid.  No wind.  U-n-b-e-a-r-a-b-l-e.

So, obviously, I stayed inside, right?  No.  (Insert eye roll).  It’s summer!  I love summer so much that I just can’t stand the thought of sitting inside on a summer weekend.  I have all winter to stay inside!!!  I must enjoy the sweltering warm weather to the fullest while we have it!  So, I sat on our deck.  BK came out to make sure I was still alive and said we should charge admission and tell people it was a sauna.  He also told me that I needed to hydrate.  I was happy to comply and came down into the air-conditioning to make an anti-fainting agent, also known as strawberry lemonade.  Yes, another fruity drink recipe!  Berries + lemons or limes + seltzer water = deliciousness in many, many different combinations!

As in the past, I cut down the sugar because I like the drink a bit more tart, but I included a range so that you could taste test for your sweet tooth and berry sweetness.  It’s verrryyyy hot again today, so make some of this and take full advantage of your summer days!

Ingredients:

For the strawberry syrup:
1 heaping cup chopped strawberries
2 tablespoons sugar
1 teaspoons lemon juice
2 tablespoons cold water
Pinch of salt

For the lemonade:
1 cup very hot water
½ to ⅔ cup sugar
1¼ cups freshly squeezed lemon juice
4½ cups cold sparkling water or seltzer

Directions:

To make the strawberry syrup, combine the strawberries, sugar, lemon juice, water and salt in the bowl of a food processor or blender.  Puree until smooth.  Pour the mixture through a fine mesh strainer to remove the seeds, pressing down to extract as much liquid as possible (my strainer still let some seeds through; not a big deal, but if you really don’t want seeds, you’ll need a very fine strainer).

To make the lemonade, combine the hot water and sugar in a pitcher.  Stir until the sugar is dissolved.  Mix in the lemon juice and water.  Stir in the strawberry puree.

Garnish with sliced lemon or strawberries if desired.  Serve immediately.

Adapted from The Sweet Melissa Baking Book, via Annie’s Eats and Pink Parsley Catering.

2 responses to this post.

  1. This is a very tasty and extremely easy drink to make. Everyone will love it! Last night, we went to a Indian restaurant and had a taste of this, I made it this morning, and now my friends and room mates keep asking me to make it.

    Reply

  2. […] obviously have a thing for fruity summer drinks, and really, really enjoyed the strawberry lemonade I made earlier this summer.  I also have a thing for cupcakes (who doesn’t?).  They are […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

