Squash Blossoms

After I picked my first zucchini, my much-more-adventurous-and-gourmet Lil Sis informed me that squash blossoms are a delicacy.  So I googled it and she was right.  I even found posts that bestowed shame upon home gardeners that don’t fully enjoy their squash blossoms.  Um, ok.

So, I was a little nervous, but in the end decided to saute the blossoms in butter.  Stuffing with cheese and frying was an alluring and popular option for sure, but what doesn’t taste good stuffed with cheese and fried, for heaven sake?  I needed to find out whether I really liked the blossom itself.

Well…it tasted like zucchini and butter.  I probably should have expected this.

How do you like your squash blossoms?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Gardening Canuck on August 10, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    I mentioned this at work the other day my Filipino staff said they do use squash blossoms in some of their Filipino dishes and it tastes good. I just haven’t tried it myself though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

